Governing Board

A school's Governing Board is a body established according to the Education Act. It is composed of the principal, vice-principals, parents, teachers, and representatives of non-teaching professionals and support staff, as well as community representatives. All decisions made by the governing board must be in the interest of the school. the students, the parents the school staff and the community. All committee members work in partnership to ensure that every student receives the best possible learning opportunity.

The Governing Board at Laval Junior Academy is comprised of:

  • 8  Parents (Voting)
  • 8  Staff (Voting)
  • Principal and Vice-Principals (Non-Voting )
  • 2  Members from the Community (Non-Voting)
  • There may also be up to 2 substitute parent members who may be called upon to replace regular parent members who are absent from meetings of the governing board.

​Parent members are elected at the Annual General Meeting which is held at the school prior to September 30 of each school year.

Topics that the Governing Board will address typically include:

  • School’s educational project
  • Standards and procedures for student evaluation
  • Anti-Bullying and Anti-Violence Plan
  • Services provided by the school, e.g.:
    • Cafeteria
    • Rental and use of premises
  • Activities such as fundraisers, extracurricular activities, and field trips
  • Allocation of any funds raised through a school activity
  • Curriculum - Subject time allocation
  • School’s annual budget

Members 2019-2020

Parent Representatives

 Laura Wittebol

 Substitute Parent Committee Delegate
Pino Alberga  Vice Chair  
 Anthony (Tony) Beliotis

 Parent Committee Delegate
 Secondary School Parent Commissioner
 Effie Kontakos  Secretary  
 Maria Caruso    
 Alexandra Antonopoulos    
Jimmy Abraham    
 Theresa Andrusko    
Polizoi Christadoulakis  Substitute Member  


Teacher Representatives

 Valerio Gazzola
 Kellie George-Bernard
 Jonathan Gray
 Mary Anne Lapenna
 Marlyn Lypoudis
 Maria Tsakris


Support Staff Represntative

 Betty Aliftiras  Student Supervisor


Professional Staff Representative

 Dominic Di Stefano  Spiritual Animator


Community Representatives

Ms. Helen Morrison, CISSS - Representative At Large

Evan Caminis - Representative for Parents of Students with Special Needs


 Eric Ruggi  Principal
 Theodoros Liakopoulos  Vice Principal - Sec. 1
 Sunday Skoufaras  Vice Principal - Sec. 2


Meeting Dates

Governing Board meetings are held at LJA in the Library. 

Everyone is welcome!

Meeting Dates 2019-2020

December 12, 2019

January 16, 2020 [canceled}

February 13, 2020

March 19, 2020 (cancelled)

April 21, 2020 (special meeting held by videoconference, closed to the public)

May 26, 2020 (special meeting held by videoconference, closed to the public)

June 18, 2020 (special meeting held by videoconference, closed to the public)